Image - Catawrayannis Base banner

Poul Anderson's Science-Fiction Future Histories

"Uniting [the Dominic Flandry and Nicholas van Rijn] stories gave Anderson the nucleus of a future history 5000 years long which now numbers more than 40 separate items including 11 full-length novels.  It is the most remarkable achievement of its kind in sf."

— Sandra Miesel, "Lurex and Gold"

Home | Links | Emporium | Poul Anderson | Contact

Technic | Psycho | Maurai | Fireball

Technic Civilization

Image - The Man Who Counts by Poul Anderson

The Man Who Counts (cover illustration by Michael Whelan served by ISFDB)

Van Rijn | Falkayn | Flandry

Anderson's most renown future history, including tales of Nicholas Van Rijn and David Falkayn, Traders of the Polesotechnic League (published in collections like Trader to the Stars and The Trouble Twisters and novels like The Man Who Counts and Mirkheim), and of Dominic Flandry, Agent of the Terran Empire (published in collections like Agent of the Terran Empire and Flandry of Terra and novels like Ensign Flandry, The Rebel Worlds, A Knight of Ghosts and Shadows and A Stone in Heaven), consists of dozens of stories and novels first published between 1952 and 1985.

Psychotechnic League

Image - The Psychotechnic League by Poul Anderson

The Psychotechnic League (cover illustration by Vincent Di Fate)

Anderson's first future history, comprised of stories first published mostly between 1950 and 1957, chronicles the rebirth of human civilization after a devastating world war and humanity's subsequent advance into the stars.  Anderson's original timeline of the series was published alongside the novella "The Snows of Ganymede" in the Winter 1955 issue of Startling Stories and most of the stories were reissued in the early 1980s in the collections The Psychotechnic League, Cold Victory and Starship.

World of the Maurai

Image - Maurai & Kith by Poul Anderson

Maurai and Kith (cover illustration by Thomas Kidd for "The Sky People")

A post-apocalyptic Earth of the distant future where industrial resources and technological know-how are scarce, comprised of three stories first published between 1959 and 1973 (and collected in 1982's Maurai and Kith) and the 1983 novel Orion Shall Rise.

Fireball and Anson Guthrie

Image - Analog, March 1995

"Renascence," Analog, March 1995 (cover illustration by George Krauter served by Galactic Central)

The tales of Anson Guthrie, one of the first humans to have his consciousness "downloaded" into a computer, describe the evolution of humanity into space and eventually to the stars.  The series, beginning with the novel Harvest of Stars, consists of four novels and a novelet first published between 1993 and 1997.

"He'd gone to sleep in a room somewhere in the stews of Catawrayannis, with no prospect or intention of leaving the city for an indefinite time—"
  — Poul Anderson, "Tiger by the Tail"

Home | Links | Emporium | Poul Anderson | Sitemap

Technic | Psycho | Maurai | Fireball

Please support Anderson content at

©2001 - 2019 by  The contents of this Web site are for personal, non-commercial use only.  Any use of copyrighted material or trademarks anywhere on this site and its files should not be viewed as a challenge to those copyrights or trademarks.  In addition, any material displayed on or served by this site cannot be republished or distributed without explicit consent from